Menu Home Menu News Menu Fixtures Menu Stats Menu Club Menu Riders Menu Corp Menu Shop Menu Gallery

The Latest News from the Lions

Lions v Hammers Match Preview

Saturday, May 28th, 2016 | Fixtures, News

Leicester have an early opportunity to ‘wash away the blues’ following last night’s result in Essex with the return fixture against Lakeside tonight and Team Manager Norrie Allan has made a rallying call to his riders. In the previous three home fixtures the Paul Chapman and Sons Lions have twice let slip a lead in the final race of the night and were level on points with Wolverhampton last week at Beaumont Park with three races remaining only to lose the Midlands derby.

Norrie Allan said: “We cannot afford to keep throwing points away after working so hard to get ourselves into a good position to win the meeting. It could have been so easily wins against King’s Lynn and Poole who pulled out that little bit extra in Heat 15 of both matches to draw. Last week against Wolverhampton we were level with them right up to the end of the twelfth heat. We had provided nine of the twelve race winners but a failure to gain the important second and third positions was our undoing. We gained one bonus point between seven riders whereas the visitors totalled ten. On those statistics alone of having a large majority of riders crossing the finishing line in front should have meant a clear win for us.”

Andreas Jonsson is the star attraction and captain of the visiting team which consists of six British riders. The multi Swedish Champion and triple World Cup gold medallist was unbeaten by a Leicester rider on his very first visit to Beaumont Park in April and his fellow heat leader Richard Lawson was also in unbeatable form. Tonight the Hammers are missing one of their top points’ scorers, Kim Nilsson, who is competing in a Grand Prix semi-final qualifier in Croatia. Lakeside are bringing in Craig Cook, another Leicester track specialist, as a guest replacement.


Leicester: 1. Patrick Hougaard, 2. Josh Auty, 3. Aaron Summers, 4. Rider Replacement for Szymon Wozniak, 5. Davey Watt, 6. Nicolai Klindt and 7. Paul Starke

Lakeside: 1. Andreas Jonsson, 2. Edward Kennett, 3. Richard Lawson, 4. Lewis Bridger, 5. Craig Cook, 6. Robert Mear and 7. Lewis Kerr


Johnny Carpenter

Saturday, May 28th, 2016 | Announcement, News

Johnnie Carpenter (b)We are saddened to learn of the news that Johnny Carpenter, one of the early Leicester Hunters riders passed away on Friday 20th May. Johnny broke into the Leicester Hunters team after impressing during junior events at Blackbird Road and stayed there on merit to become one of the success stories of 1949. Johnny improved with every appearance and in the final league match of the season he gained his maiden maximum at Swindon. Such progress continued in 1950 when Johnny added nearly two points to his average and he won the Supporters Trophy at Blackbird Road for a second time. A year later he helped Leicester win the Midland Cup Final against Birmingham and after making 145 appearances for the Hunters and scoring 762 points in his career Johnny retired from racing speedway in 1952.


Hammers 66 : Lions 26

Saturday, May 28th, 2016 | Fixtures, News, Results

The Lions suffered their worst result away from home since joining the Elite League last night in Essex against Lakeside who won a one-sided contest by 66 points to 26.

The Hammers made a whirlwind start to the meeting winning all five of the opening heats without reply from Leicester. A consolation shared heat in the sixth race when Davey Watt scored double points was a brief interlude as the onslaught continued immediately afterwards.


Lakeside 66 points: Andreas Jonsson 15+3, Edward Kennett 12+1, Richard Lawson 16+2, Lewis Bridger 10+1, Rider Replacement for Kim Nilsson, Robert Mear 2 and Lewis Kerr 11+1

Leicester 26 points: Patrick Hougaard 2, Josh Auty 2, Aaron Summers 3, Rider Replacement for Szymon Wozniak, Davey Watt 9, 6. Nicolai Klindt 2+1 and Paul Starke 8+1


Email Subscription

For the latest information on the Leicester Lions, have it delivered direct to your inbox. Enter your name and email address below.


Email: Subscribe Unsubscribe



Get involved with other Leicester Lions Fans and join our facebook page.

Don't miss out, and invite your friends along too.

Click here to get involved.

Email us Copyright 2016 Leicester Speedway Ltd.
The copyright in this website and the material on this website (including without limitation the text, computer code, artwork, photographs, images, music, audio material, video material and audio-visual material on this website) is owned by us and our licensors.
Created by nospario